End of Month Report: November ’09

DATE OF REPORT: 11/30/2009 FOR MONTH OF: November HOST COUNTRY: Taiwan
NAME: Eric Andrew Fleck

MY HOST FAMILY INFORMATION IS:

ST Zhang
No. 12-14, Lane 159, KuoKuang Rd., Sec 1
Tali Taichung Hsien, Taiwan 412

Tel: +886-4-24064450 (Res.)

MY HOST CLUB COUNSELOR INFORMATION IS:

“Andy” Kuo-Hsun LIU
No. 58, Gongye 20th Rd.,
Taipin City, Taichung County 411 Taiwan

Tel: +886-4-22780462
FAX: +886-4-22715975
Email: lkh5081@ms26.hinet.net

About the Exchange:

Hi everyone!

Well.. another month already gone too soon. Middle of November, I switched to my second host family as scheduled. This family is also very nice and they go out of their way to help me learn Chinese and also to feel comfortable around the house. Every night I come home, Mama has dinner ready on the table for the family. I have two brothers about the same age and one older sister who is usually at college. They all speak English pretty well and are very friendly. My dad – once again – doesn’t speak much English, but – once again – he’s very comical and happy-go-lucky.

How was everyone’s Thanksgiving? Mine was very interesting haha. My host family bought KFC and they also made fish, dumplings and rice – so there was plenty too eat, and it was really good too. I hadn’t had KFC for probably over 5 years.

Two weekends ago I, as well as Ana and Paulina, gave speeches in Chinese about our interests and how we are enjoying Taiwan at a Rotary meeting. They were well received and my family said I did well.

I’ve started wearing my leather coat because it has gotten pretty cold in the mornings and when I leave school at night.

Last Friday, Ana, Paulina, I and a few classmates went to a night market after school which was a lot of fun. We bought cotton candy, some Chinese hotdogs and some dumplings – so it was a very delicious supper! Saturday, Ana and I went to see the new movie “2012” which was decent, but I still am not a believer. Saturday night, on my way home, I got on the right bus on the wrong side of the road and ended up riding it for over an hour before it finally had turned around and gotten me home. Sunday, my school was featured on a TV show and it showed the hosts touring the school. It was pretty cool!

My Chinese is still improving and I have started to be able to read signs for stores’ names, etc. It’s very cool to be able to understand something that only three months ago looked likea bunch of lines and scribble.

As you will be able to tell by the amount of pictures, there wasn’t that much new stuff that happened in November. Sorry if it seems short. December should be more interesting. I am trying to get myself to (lol) practice singing a Chinese song of my choice for a Rotary D.3460 competition on the 12th of Dec. We’ll see how that goes… =P And of course Christmas is right around the corner… apparently that’s bigger here than Thanksgiving is – let’s hope so anyway. Hahaha…

Pictures: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=43193&id=1407385820&l=68cb258394

Have a Merry Christmas!!

Eric Fleck, Rotary Exchange Student
D5490 Prescott, AZ
H: (928) 443-0943
2009-10 Outbound > Taichung, Taiwan
Skype: eaFleck

~ by flerick on November 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
