End of Month Report: February ’10

DATE OF REPORT: 3/1/2010 FOR MONTH OF: February HOST COUNTRY: Taiwan
NAME: Eric Andrew Fleck

MY HOST FAMILY INFORMATION IS:
Huan-Wen CHANG
No. 58-2, Changyi St., Taiping City, Taichung County
411 Taiwan

Tel: +886-4-22781140 (Res.)

MY HOST CLUB COUNSELOR INFORMATION IS:

“Andy” Kuo-Hsun LIU
No. 58, Gongye 20th Rd.,
Taipin City, Taichung County 411 Taiwan

Tel: +886-4-22780462
FAX: +886-4-22715975
Email: lkh5081@ms26.hinet.net

About the Exchange:

February is over already!

I switched to my 3rd host family this month. They are really nice and have a beautiful home. On Chinese New Year, we had a fantastic dinner together. The $2 bills (USD) that I have been giving to people have really been a hit! I got quite a lot of money as well from my host club, relatives, and host families.

I went with them to a town called Chuang Hua where we visited a huge statue of Buddha. I went inside and you can climb stairs up to various floors inside. I also tried squid-on-a-stick there. It was tasty enough, but the fishy smell made it something I don’t think I’ll crave. I went back to Chuang Hua with a few exchange student friends on our own for a day there and we rode bicycles around the whole town. We ate dinner together at a type of restaurant very popular here. In them, you are served “hot pots” – pots of water which you boil to your specification while adding raw meats and vegetables plus noodles and other sorts of tasty items.

The second semester of school has started and I’ve been studying hard the first week in. I seem to have a stronger will-power to concentrate on studying this semester. After school last Thursday, I walked 10 km to my home for no reason other than to try it. Haha.. it was challenging, but I think I’ll do it again so I’m more familiar with my new neighborhood.

Oh and by the way, I’ll be turning 18 on the 17th of March! =] Don’t have any plans yet, but my host family will probably do something with me.

Hope the snow has/is melting off you guys in the southwest!

Eric Fleck, Rotary Exchange Student
D5490 Prescott, AZ
H: (928) 443-0943
2009-10 Outbound > Taichung, Taiwan
Skype: eaFleck

~ by flerick on March 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
