End of Month Report: March ’10

DATE OF REPORT: 3/31/2010 FOR MONTH OF: March HOST COUNTRY: Taiwan
NAME: Eric Andrew Fleck

MY HOST FAMILY INFORMATION IS:
Huan-Wen CHANG
No. 58-2, Changyi St., Taiping City, Taichung County
411 Taiwan

Tel: +886-4-22781140 (Res.)

MY HOST CLUB COUNSELOR INFORMATION IS:

“Andy” Kuo-Hsun LIU
No. 58, Gongye 20th Rd.,
Taipin City, Taichung County 411 Taiwan

Tel: +886-4-22780462
FAX: +886-4-22715975
Email: lkh5081@ms26.hinet.net

About the Exchange:

March flew by, boy I was pretty busy!

All things are well with my 3rd family and family.

Most of us exchangies (and I think I speak not just for those of us in Taiwan) are getting very restless at the notion of having to return home soon. I wish the exchange was at least two years, not just one. Of course, I am fairly certain that at the end of two years living here, I would want to extend it even more. Hahah..

My birthday, on the 17th of this month, was really nice. I turned 18 (finally!!). Much partying occured (at school and home), and my host counselor put cake on my face! hahaha
Much more happened than I had expected. I have been so lucky with all of my host families being the best and I really have some great friends over here. I am sure I’ll miss more than a few faces once I leave.

A few months ago, I became so busy here that I had to start writing down all the things to do and accomplish. I call the listed things my Taiwan missions. Hahaha.. I’m getting through a bunch of them. They range from little stuff like organising and putting pins on my blazer to bigger stuff such as learning more Chinese, travelling more around the island and seeing a few concerts. Speaking of my blazer… Wow, there is a lot of stuff on it! And half of it isn’t even pins – stuff that will remind me of memories I’ve shared with friends this year, safety pinned on! I’m trying to keep it from looking too trashy, but I will warn you, there is a Pizza Hut paper napkin on it right now. Hahahaha

In school, me and the two exchange student girls are expanding our Chinese vocabulary. Tuesday, we learned a Chinese tongue twister.

On a very bad note, there was an email sent to me by my club counselor saying that I might have to be sent home early due to my 4th host family going out of town and inability to host me. They are not able to find anyone else to host me right now, so we’ll see.

I went to Taipei with a few friends last weekend and visited a few places via the MRT subway system. We went to a famous nightmarket there and had baked potatoes and papaya mik. It was delicious. After, we played pool for a while, and then I went to an airgun stand and impressed them (and myself) with my pistol aim at popping all the balloons.

Oh and that part about me getting sent home early… that’s an April Fools Joke. You might be reading this on the 31st, but it’s the 1st of April here. Anyway, sorry. I had to =P

You really see life from a whole different perspective when you spend a year abroad. I’ve learned much and have more foresight of what lies ahead. As hard as it is, I’m trying to keep the feelings of sadness and nostalgia from completely taking over while I spend my last three months in Asia.

See you guys soon…

Eric Fleck, Rotary Exchange Student
D5490 Prescott, AZ
H: (928) 443-0943
2009-10 Outbound > Taichung, Taiwan
Skype: eaFleck

~ by flerick on March 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
