Negative Emotion Sounds Universally Understandable

This was very interesting to come across, as I have found out through my own experience that I came to understand these types of common Taiwanese/Chinese exclamatory grunts and yelps, yet I was never formally taught them in Chinese class.

One such example:

When a Taiwanese (no matter what age) is shocked, surprised, disappointed, angry or fearful, they usually (before letting loose the swears 😉 hahaha) exclaim (sometimes in a hushed voice if they are frightened) “Hai – yoooo”.

I find myself using it like a native now, actually hahaha.

Read the article I found here:
http://www.livescience.com/culture/negative-emotion-sounds-universally-understandable-100125.html

~ by flerick on May 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
